Honors for Irving Institute Faculty

February 3, 2021

We are proud to share two recent honors that our faculty have received, and applaud their outstanding efforts.

Sandra Soo-Jin Lee, PhD

Director of the Irving Institute TEAMS; Chief of the Division of Ethics in the Department of Medical Humanities & Ethics

Named President-elect of the Association of Bioethics Program Directors

The Association of Bioethics Program Directors (ABPD) represents the leadership of over 70 academic bioethics programs across North America. The ABPD exists to serve the needs of bioethics programs and their directors. The Association’s work helps to foster the development and success of bioethics programs housed in academic institutions, by creating information of use to program directors, acting as a clearinghouse for information, and hosting conversations among peers about issues that are important for those in leadership positions.


Sidney Hankerson, MD

Associate Director of the Irving Institute Community Engagement Core Resource; Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry

Received the American Psychiatric Association's 2020-2021 Nancy C.A. Roeske, MD, Certificate of Recognition for Excellence in Medical Student Education