Irving Institute Announces 2017-2018 CaMPR Pilot Awardees

June 1, 2018

The Irving Institute for Clinical and Translational Research, home to Columbia University’s Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) Program hub, announces the winners of the 2017-18 Collaborative and Multidisciplinary Pilot Research (CaMPR) pilot awards.

The Collaborative and Multidisciplinary Pilot Research Pilot Award (CaMPR) is a two-phase award that provides planning and start-up funds to support the formation of newly-configured investigative teams with the aim of addressing a significant health problem at the cellular, individual, or community level. The pilot awardees are:

Using Narrative Medicine to Reduce Weight Bias Across the Health Professions: Toward Improved Health Care for Persons with Obesity

  • Sharon Akabas, PhD, Pediatrics - Gastroenterology (Principal Investigator) 
  • Rebekah Ruppe, DNP, Nursing (Co-Principal Investigator) 
  • Laurel Abbruzzese,  BA, MSPT, EdM, EdD, Rehabilitation and Regenerative Medicine 
  • Tirissa Reid, MD, Medicine 
  • Folarin Odusola, DMD, Dental Medicine  
  • Rita Charon MD, PhD, Medicine 

Effectiveness of spinal cord stimulation for the management of freezing of gait and locomotion in Parkinson’s disease

  • Nora Vanegas, MD, Neurology (Principal Investigator) 
  • Stanley Fahn, MD, Neurology 
  • Sunil Agrawal, PhD, Engineering and Applied Sciences 
  • Christopher Winfree, MD, Neurosurgery
  • Lan Luo MD, Neurology
  • Antonio Prado, MS, Engineering and Applied Sciences


Campus News, Research, NIH/NCATS, Funding, Pilot Awards