Irving Institute Announces 2018 Clinical Trials Office Pilot Awardees

July 1, 2018

The Irving Institute for Clinical and Translational Research, home to Columbia University’s Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) Program hub, announces the winners of the 2018 Clinical Trials Office pilot awards.

The Irving Institute/Clinical Trials Office (Irving Institute/CTO) Pilot Awards are one-year clinical and translational research grants which are intended primarily for junior investigators who have not previously received funding through this mechanism. The pilot awardees are:

  • Aditi Falnikar, PhD, Pathology and Cell Biology - Pathology: Evaluation of 7, 8 - Dihydroxyflavone, a BDNF Mimetic, as a Potential Therapeutic Agent
  • Daniel Freedberg, MD, MS, Medicine - Digestive and Liver Diseases: Dietary Fiber to Prevent Loss of Gastrointestinal Colonization Resistance and Pathogen Colonization in the Intensive Care
  • Jaime Hook, MD, Medicine - Pulmonary: Novel Mechanisms of Post-Influenza Staphylococcal Lung Injury
  • Tamar Lubell, MD, Pediatrics - Emergency Medicine - Urinary Tract Infections in Young Children: Testing a Novel, Non-Invasive, Point-of-Care Diagnostic
  • Lynn Petukhova, PhD, Dermatology - Collaboration: Initiating Translational Genetic Studies in Hidradenitis Suppurativa
  • Gissette Reyes-Soffer, MD, Medicine - Preventive Medicine: The Metabolic Effects of Lipoprotein(a) Isoforms
  • Jennifer Sumner, PhD, Medicine - Behavorial Cardiology: Developing a Biomarker-Based Metric of Biological Age in Youth
  • Hanrui Zhang, MB, PhD, Medicine - Cardiology: Discover Novel Regulators of Efferocytosis by Genome-Wide CRISPR Screen in Primary Macrophages


Campus News, Research, NIH/NCATS, Funding, Pilot Awards