Irving Institute Announces 2019 Integrating Special Populations Pilot Awardees

June 1, 2019

The Irving Institute for Clinical and Translational Research, home to Columbia University’s Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) Program hub, announces the winners of the 2019 Integrating Special Populations pilot awards.

The Integrating Special Populations (ISP) Pilot Award supports the formation of newly-configured investigative teams aimed at studying diseases across the lifespan and utilizing rare diseases as tools to study more common ones. The pilot awardees are:

Headshot of Thomas Connors
Thomas Connors, MD

Effects of Iron Deficiency on Early Life Immune Development

  • Thomas Connors, MD, Pediatrics (Principal Investigator)
  • Donna Farber, PhD, Surgery/Microbiology 
  • Eldad Hod, MD, PhD, Pathology and Cell Biology
  • Kalpana Pethe, MD, Pediatrics
  • Gary Brittenham, MD, Pediatrics

Nancy Kerner and three study team members
Nancy Kerner, MD and study team

Interaction of OSA and APOE ε4 on Risk of Cognitive Decline

  • Nancy Kerner, MD, Psychiatry (Principal Investigator)
  • Devangere Devanand, MD, Psychiatry/Neurology
  • Terry Goldberg, PhD, Psychiatry/Anesthesiology
  • Andrew Westwood, MD, Neurology

Tristan Sands standing in office
Tristan Sands, MD, PhD

Using Discordant Monozygotic Twins to Unlock the Genetic Basis of Aicardi Syndrome

  • Tristan Sands, MD, PhD, Neurology (Principal Investigator)
  • David Goldstein, PhD, Genetics and Development

Headshot of Michael Yin
Michael Yin, MD, MS

Psychosocial Stressors and Ambulatory Blood Pressure in Young Adults with Perinatal-Acquired HIV 

  • Michael Yin, MD, MS, Medicine (Principal Investigator)
  • Stephanie Shiau, PhD, MPH, Gertrude H. Sergievsky Center
  • Stephen Arpadi, MD, MS, Gertrude H. Sergievsky Center/Epidemiology
  • Jing Shen, PhD, Gertrude H. Sergievsky Center
  • Daichi Shimbo, MD, Medicine
  • Jennifer Cruz, PhD, Psychiatry 


Campus News, Research, NIH/NCATS, Funding, Pilot Awards