Irving Institute Announces 2018 Integrating Special Populations Pilot Awardees

June 1, 2018

The Irving Institute for Clinical and Translational Research, home to Columbia University’s Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) Program hub, announces the winners of the 2018 Integrating Special Populations pilot awards.

The Integrating Special Populations (ISP) Pilot Award supports the formation of newly-configured investigative teams aimed at studying diseases across the lifespan and utilizing rare diseases as tools to study more common ones. The pilot awardees are:

Study of Biological Aging in Young Adults with Perinatal-acquired HIV

  • Stephen M. Arpadi, MD, MS, Gertrude H. Sergievsky Center/Pediatrics/Epidemiology (Principal Investigator)
  • Stephanie Shiau, PhD, MPH, Gertrude H. Sergievsky Center
  • Michael T. Yin, MD, MS, Medicine 
  • Jing Shen, PhD, Gertrude H. Sergievsky Center
  • Louise Kuhn, PhD, MPH, MA, Gertrude H. Sergievsky Center, Epidemiology

Novel Approach to Modeling Pathogenicity of CPVT Mutations for Improving Clinical Management 

  • Oliver B. Clarke, PhD, Anesthesiology (Principal Investigator)
  • Alexander Kushnir, MD, PhD, Medicine
  • Hasan Garan, MD, Medicine
  • Andrew R. Marks, MD, Physiology and Cellular Biophysics

Analyzing Age-Related Changes of Brain Activation in Subjects Native Space

  • Qolamreza R. Razlighi, PhD, Neurology (Principal Investigator)
  • Amirreza Sedaghat, PhD, Biomedical Engineering
  • Soroush Arabshahi, PhD, Biomedical Engineering 

Metabolomic and MRI-Determined Body Composition Profile Changes Following Bariatric Surgery in Adolescents

  • Wei Shen, MD, MPH, MS, Pediatrics (Principal Investigator)
  • Ilene Fennoy, MD, Pediatrics
  • Jennifer Woo-Baidal, MD, MPH, Pediatrics
  • Jeffrey L. Zitsman, MD, Surgery


Campus News, Research, NIH/NCATS, Funding, Pilot Awards