Irving Institute Announces 2019 Precision Medicine Pilot Awardees

April 1, 2019

The Irving Institute for Clinical and Translational Research, home to Columbia University’s Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) Program hub, announces the winners of the 2019 Precision Medicine pilot awards.

The Precision Medicine Pilot Awards fund multidisciplinary research proposals focused on approaches to tailor medical care (prevention, diagnosis, and/or treatment) to the individual patient. The pilot awardees are:

Identification of Precision Diagnostic and Therapeutic Targets for Advanced Prostate Cancer Patients Based on Mechanistic RNA Landscape

  • Howard Lieberman, PhD, Radiation Oncology (Principal Investigator)
  • Israel Deutsch, MD, Radiation Oncology
  • Richard Friedman, PhD, Biomedical Informatics
  • Sven Wenske, MD, Urology

Application of Multi-Omics Profiling to Predict Adverse Left Ventricular Remodeling and Cardivascular Events in Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy

  • Yuichi Shimada, MD, Medicine/Cardiology (Principal Investigator)
  • Matthew Maurer, MD, Medicine/Cardiology
  • Rajesh Soni, PhD, Medicine/Hematology and Oncology
  • Renu Nandakumar, PhD, Medicine/General Medicine
  • Kohei Hasegawa, MD, Medicine/Emergency Medicine

TBX3 as a Novel Regulator of POMC for Therapeutic Targeting 

  • Vidhu Thaker, MD, Pediatrics/Molecular Genetics (Principal Investigator)
  • Claudia Doege, MD, Pathology and Cell Biology 


Campus News, Personalized Medicine, Research, NIH/NCATS, Funding, Pilot Awards