CBPR Awardees Receive Provost's Faculty Seed Grants

November 6, 2020

Congratulations to seven of our CBPR awardees who have received Provost's Faculty Seed Grants under the “Addressing Racism: A Call to Action for Higher Education” Initiative.

The goal of this initiative is to provide resources to enable collaborative dialogue, action, and insight for systemic change toward racial equity. Of the 70 CUIMC faculty members to receive this funding, we would like to recognize seven scholars and awardees from our Irving Institute Community-Based Participatory Research (CBPR) Scholars and Awards Program.

Here are the grantees (names bolded) affiliated with our CBPR Program, and their projects:


“Disrupting the Effects of Racism on Underrepresented in Medicine (Urim) Trainees: Fostering Healing and Agency” 

Jean-Marie Alves-Bradford, Psychiatry + Hetty Cunningham, Pediatrics; Hilda Hutcherson, Obstetrics and Gynecology


“Addressing Racism Through Education, Intentional Recruitment & Advocacy”

Silvia Cunto-Amesty, Medicine, Population & Family Health + Himabindu Ekanadham, Krishna Desai, Richard Younge, Medicine; David Rosenthal, Health Policy & Management; Rebecca Leeds, Hannah Brooks, Family & Community Medicine; Nataliya Pilipenko, Medicine & Psychiatry


“Awareness and Community Activism to Confront Racism in the Mental Health System”

Sidney Hankerson, Psychiatry + M. Katherine Shear, Social Work


“Moving Towards Anti-racist Systems and Policies to Reduce Childhood Obesity”

Jennifer Woo Baidal & John Rausch, Pediatrics + Elena Ladas, Pediatrics and Epidemiology 


“Fostering Inclusive Excellence - Addressing Racism & Culture in PT Education (FIERCE)”

Laurel Daniels Abbruzzese & Clare Bassile + Ashwini Rao, Rehabilitation and Regenerative Medicine 


For full details read the complete Provost announcement





diversity, equity