Mentor of the Year Award

This service is provided by TRANSFORM.

Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.

Benjamin Franklin

The Mentor of the Year Award is presented each year by the Irving Institute and the Office of Academic Affairs to faculty on the Columbia University Irving Medical Center (CUIMC) campus in recognition of their outstanding guidance and support provided to students, fellows, and colleagues.

See a list of current and past Mentor of the Year awardees.


Nominations for the Mentor of the Year Award may come from student, postdocs, and/or faculty members. Mentors must be affiliated with one of the schools on the CUIMC campus (Mailman School of Public Health, Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons, College of Dental Medicine, School of Nursing, or Graduate School of Arts and Sciences).

Past awardees are ineligible for nomination.


The 2022 nomination process will start in March 2022


Cite it, Submit it, Share it!

If your research has benefited from one or more Irving Institute resources, please remember to:

  • Cite our CTSA grant in any relevant publications, abstracts, chapters, and/or posters.
  • Submit your publications to PubMed Central (PMC) for compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy.
  • Share your research updates with us by sending an email to:


Training and Education (TRANSFORM)
622 West 168th Street, 10th Floor
New York, NY 10032
United States