Integrating Special Populations Resource (ISP)

The Integrating Special Populations (ISP) Resource fosters research collaborations within and across four special populations: pediatrics (infants, children, and young adults), geriatrics (65 years or older), rare diseases (as defined by NIH, a rare disease affects fewer than 200,000 people in the US or one in 1,500), and HIV. The goal is to provide expertise necessary to study diseases across the lifespan, utilize rare diseases as tools to study more common diseases, increase the dissemination of results, and create culturally sensitive engagement, recruitment, and educational tools to facilitate ISP-based research in upper Manhattan.


ISP provides support through:


  • Karen S. Marder, MD, MPH

    Director; Sally Kerlin Professor of Neurology

    Headshot of Karen Marder
  • Michael Rosenbaum, MD

    Associate Program Director; Professor, Clinical Pediatrics and Clinical Medicine

    Michael Rosenbaum
  • Sudha Kashyap, MD

    Associate Program Director; Professor of Pediatrics

    Headshot of Sudha Kashyap, MD
  • Elizabeth G. Cohn, RN, PhD

    Associate Director, Community Engagement Core Resource (CECR)

  • Zainab Abedin, MPH

    Assistant Director, Evaluation and Continuous Improvement (ECI)

    Headshot of Zainab Abedin
  • Dianne C. Frederick

    Senior Program Manager

  • Peter Dayan, MD, MS

    Associate Director

    peter dayan md

Pediatric Special Populations Leadership

  • Peter S. Dayan, MD, MS

    Professor of Emergency Medicine

    peter dayan md

Geriatric Special Populations Leadership

  • Matthew R. Baldwin, MD, MS

    Herbert Irving Assistant Professor of Medicine

  • Joseph H. Lee, PhD

    Professor of Epidemiology (in the Gertrude H. Sergievsky Center)

Rare Disease Special Populations Leadership

  • Emily A. DiMango, MD

    Professor of Medicine; Assistant Dean for Student Affairs

    Headshot of Emily Dimango

HIV/AIDS Special Populations Leadership

  • Magdalena Sobieszczyk, MD, MPH

    Associate Professor of Medicine

    Headshot of Magdalena Sobieszczyk

Faculty Collaborators

Sekhar Ramakrishnan, EngScD

Pilot Awardees